International Society
for Experimental Microsurgery

Founded in 1991

The Robert Zhong Award

In 2007, at the Executive Committee Meeting the Board of the Society decided to establish the Robert Zhong Award for young researchers.
In 2008 and in 2010 the Award’s prize was donated by Prof. Iren Miko, Prof. Istvan Furka, Dr. Norbert Nemeth and Dr. Endre Brath of Hungary.
From 2012 the ISEM and the Congress Organizers donates the Award.

The Recipients of this Award:
      2008 Mei Yang (Shanghai, China) and Yinghua Tian (Zürich, Switzerland)
      2010 Alessio Baccarani (Modena, Italy)
      2012 Zoltan Klarik (Debrecen, Hungary)
      2014 Corrado C. Campisi (Genova, Italy)
      2016 Georgios Pafitanis (London, UK)

On the next congress of the ISEM (2018, Budapest, Hungary) the Robert Zhong Award will be announced again for the young researchers.
Selection criteria:
  • Age under 35, member of the ISEM
  • Work on microsurgical research to be presented at the actual ISEM Congress.
  • Submission of an application that includes:
    • accompanying letter
    • curriculum vitae
    • copy of the submitted abstract
    • extended, 4-page summary of the work to be presented (figures and references allowed)
The final decision will be made by the Jury (a Committee of ISEM Board Members) based on the application and the live presentation at the Congress. The Robert Zhong Award includes an official certificate and 500 USD.

The detailed announcement for 2018 will be published soon!

ISEM’s Certificate

for Young Researcher’s outstanding contibution to Experimental Microsurgery

      2012 Corrado C. Campisi (Genova, Italy) - lymphatic microsurgery

Certificate of Merit

2016 Shiguang Qian (Cleveland, USA), past-president and past-treasurer – for his outstanding contribution to the Society’s life, its maintenance and progression.

2016 Hao Wang (China) - for the successful organisation of the 13th Congress of the International Society for Experimental Microsurgery

isem logo